Educators of Excellence Award: Celebrating transformational leaders in our schools
New Memphis knows that great leadership is needed in every corner of our community — from the board room to the classroom. Educators are essential leaders in our community as their impact and investment is critical to our city’s future success. At New Memphis, we believe it’s paramount to recognize the contribution of our best educators, to learn from their experiences, and to support them in their growth. Their work is transformational to students, fellow educators and Memphis as a whole.
2021 continued to be a challenge for us all, but educators across the city stepped up and showed out for their students. To acknowledge and celebrate the outstanding work of exceptional educators for the fourth year in a row, we're thrilled to announce the recipients of the 2021 Educators of Excellence Award, special thanks to The Crews Foundation for their support of our honorees.

  • Abigail Kovar, 6th Grade Special Education teacher at Chickasaw Middle School
  • Aaron Youngblood, Geometry Teacher at Martin Luther King College Prep High School
  • Kayla Jernigan, 3rd grade lead teacher at Vision Preparatory Charter School
  • Taylor Cao, Director of Student Life and 7th Grade Science Instructor at St. George's Independent School
  • Alexia Hernandez, 8th grade math and algebra I teacher at Freedom Preparatory Academy Flagship Middle School

To learn more about each of these educators, tune into our "Meanwhile in Memphis" podcast here and here